Ambedkar Jayanti Celebration at DSBA

The birth anniversary of the architect of Indian Constitution, Dr B R Ambedkar was celebrated with fervour at DSBA on 15th Apr 2019. The annual legacy of celebrating his birth anniversary was maintained yet again, by B R Ambedkar Study Centre at DSBA as the centre feels that the present-day youth should follow Dr Ambedkar’s ideals, thoughts especially in the present contemporary situation.   

Students and faculty gathered at Room G-05 at 10:30 am. Prof Prakasha, Faculty In-charge, B R Ambedkar Study Centre co-ordinated the event. The day began by paying homage to commemorate the memory of B R Ambedkar.  Floral tributes were offered to the garlanded photograph by the Principal, Dr [Brig] Sandes. He was joined by the Dean, Dr Veena K N and the HOD, Prof Nikitha Sreekantha who lit the lamps to mark the auspicious beginning to the event.    

While delivering their addresses, Dr [Brig] Sandes and Dr Veena dwelt at length on the life and works of B R Ambedkar. They shared his thoughts and philosophy with the audience. Dr Sandes further motivated the students to exercise their franchise in the forth coming elections. Prof Prakasha enlightened the audience by stating that B R Ambedkar was a crusader, a statesman and a national leader. He spoke about the following aspects of Dr Ambedkar’s life -his struggles for social justice, caste discriminations and its abolishment, working for underprivileged and his contribution in the formation of the Indian Constitution. 

  At 11 am, to mark the occasion ‘Logo Design contest’ was held at the same venue. 26 students participated in the event. The participants had to make a logo to indicate Dr B R Ambedkar’s contribution, his life, his vision or anything to do with his life. The duration of the competition was for one hour  

Prof Prakasha and Prof Meera Krishnan judged the competition Aesthetic quality [attention, colour coordination], Originality [creative, original and innovative] and Relevance [to the theme] 

The following were adjudged the winners:

First Prize-Monisha S [Final Year BCom]

Second Prize- Pallavi R [I Year BBA]